The New Year

As 2012 peeks over the horizon, I hope for a year of abundance, balance, simplicity, and bliss. I reflect, with gratitude, upon the profusion of friends and family who sustain me, and I await with excitement the March performances of The Materiality of Impermanence. It is amazing to me that this dance has become a reality!

As the new year unfolds, I will gather strength in order to grapple with the final choreographic choices, transitions, and technical issues.  I look forward to polishing the work with the dancers, watching the scenic and costume elements coalesce, and exploring more deeply the multiple layers of meaning within this piece.

The new year also brings about an anniversary: it has been two years since my breast cancer diagnosis. The date ushers in conflicting emotions: a sense of accomplishment for all that I have trudged through, but also a sense of terrible loss.  There is no doubt, however, that the creation of The Materiality of Impermanence has been essential to my healing–physical, emotional, and most importantly, spiritual.

 Happy New Year!

Lisa del Rosario, Angela Johnson, and Sheila Cruz

~ by sharonmarroquin on December 28, 2011.

2 Responses to “The New Year”

  1. This is an amazing project. To be able to respond with physical beauty to something so physically devastating is a true gift. I found your blog through PRC–keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

 
